Follow

How to Reset to Factory Defaults

How to Reset to Factory - Polycom Devices

For second-hand phones/phones used with another provider, it is recommended that you reset the phone to factory defaults to wipe all previous configurations and settings.  To do this:

  • Press "Menu" on your Polycom phone
  • Navigate to "Settings" --> "Advanced". You will be prompted for a password. The default is "456", but this may have been changed by your administrator.
  • Select "Admin Settings"
  • Navigate down screen to "Reset to Default"
  • From the Reset to Defaults menu, navigate to "Reset to Factory"

 

For older firmware, if you do not see "Reset to Factory", do the following instead:

  • Select "Reset Local". Phone will ask "do you really want to do this"; respond with "yes"; screen will return and look like nothing happened this is ok, move forward with next step.
  • Select "Reset Web". Phone will ask "do you really want to do this"; respond with "yes"; screen will return and look like nothing happened this is ok, move forward with next step.
  • Select "Reset Device Settings".  Phone will ask "do you really want to do this"; respond with "yes".  Phone will restart at this point, just let it do it's thing.

 

Reboot phone - once phone comes back up, the phone will now be in the same state as a Brand New Phone.

Follow steps to add to polycom boot server

 

What do each of the default reset options mean/do:

"Reset to Factory" - Reset to Factory combines Reset Local, Reset Device and Reset Web into one option.  This saves time and reboots and is the safest option.  You ONLY need to do the other options is you have old firmware that does not offer "Reset to Factory". This is the best reset option.

(Older Firmware Only)

"Reset Local Config" - reset the locally saved user settings. If the phone was only used previously in a standard, minimal configuration.

"Reset Device Settings" - erases the flash. This removes all the settings that can be modified via the "Setup" when the phone first boots. These settings include boot server, DHCP servers, syslog servers, etc. Note: Please see below. Do not attempt this with a previously configured phone.

"Reset Web Configuration" - removes any information set via the phone's WWW interface.

"Format file system" - deletes the application software on the phone, as well as line configuration settings. The flash remains intact. You must point the phone at a boot server in order to download a new application file and to be able to use the phone.  Please use this option with caution as it has the potential to brick the device.

What to do if the default "456" password does not work after a reset

 

Revised May 2017

 

Download the 2017 Business Phone Guide

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk